Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 19 guests online.

Recent comments


Repairman Jack : Fatal Error

Fatal Error is the fourteenth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

The Septimus Order, the Dormentalists and the Kickers all combine to try and bring down the internet, hoping the resulting chaos will further their cause of killing The Lady and letting The Otherness take over our reality.

As with the previous episode, we are just progressing the story line, getting us another step closer to the possible end of the world…



Repairman Jack : Ground Zero…

Ground Zero is the thirteenth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

Jack meets up with an old school friend who has become fixated by the secret history of the world and more specifically, how it links to the 9/11 conspiracy theories…

This story adds a bit more flesh to Jack’s life before he became a fix-it man. It also gives a lot more information about how the Otherness is planning to take over our reality. The link to 9/11 is both a good and bad in my eyes. It’s good because it gives this work of fiction a lot more depth and gives it a very real feeling. It’s bad because it seems a little like exploitation of a real situation and the lives it affected. I’m really not sure what to make of this aspect of the plot.

Repairman Jack : By the Sword

By the Sword is the twelfth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

Jack is hired to find a battered old Japanese sword. Unfortunately, there are some other people looking for it, including a group of Yakuza, a group of self-mutilating Japanese monks and people from a US religious cult. This is not going to be easy…

We are gradually getting closer to the end of times, so things are getting progressively chaotic and weird. Despite how ridiculous the plot sounds in a one-liner, it actually moves along quite well. As I’ve said before, I’ve become so desensitized to the dark nature of the books, I’m able to see past the grimness. I’m not sure if that should worry me or not…



Repairman Jack : Bloodline

Bloodline is the eleventh book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

After taking a break from doing fix-its, Jack takes on a simple case for Christy Pickering. She is looking for dirt on her daughter’s boyfriend, who is twice her daughters age. Not Jack’s normal work, but it sounds simple enough, until the first guy Christy hired for the job turns up dead. As usual, nothing is ever simple for Jack…

Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c Cloud Control: Managing Data Center Chaos

If you are interested in finding out more about Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c Cloud Control, Porus Homi Havewala‘s new book called Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c Cloud Control: Managing Data Center Chaos, will be available in printed and electronic formats in September 2012. If you are super-keen, it’s available for pre-order now. :)



Free Book: Introducing Microsoft SQL Server 2012

Michael McLaughlin‘s blog has a post about a free MS SQL Server book (Introducing Microsoft SQL Server 2012) available here. If you are into MS SQL Server, you can’t get a better deal than that. :)

Remember, you can still get hold of a free copy of Tom Kyte‘s book (Expert Oracle Database Architecture, 2nd Edition) from Red Gate.



Repairman Jack : Harbingers

Harbingers is the tenth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

The last of Jack’s relatives are gone. Are his girlfriend (Gia), her daughter (Vicky) and Jack’s unborn child the next in line? Is there anything Jack can do to protect them?

This book focuses more on Jack’s relationship to “The Otherness” and “The Ally”. We see a more aggressive side of Jack, as well as the cold calm detachment when he’s doing his job. Dark, dark, dark, but also kinda exciting.





Repairman Jack : Infernal…

Infernal is the ninth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

Another family tragedy has the effect of reuniting Jack with his brother Tom, the judge. It turns out Tom is not as squeaky clean has he appears and needs Jack’s help for something less than legal. As you can probably guess by now, it all turns sinister and mystical… :)

Repairman Jack : Crisscross

Crisscross is the eighth book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

I’m trying desperately not to sing “Kris Kross will make you jump, jump“. Failed.

Two quick fix-it jobs get very complicated. First Jack tries to help a Nun who is being blackmailed. Then a concerned mother asks him to find her missing son who has joined a cult. You would have though by now Jack would realize there is nothing like a simple fix-it.

Repairman Jack : Gateways…

Gateways is the seventh book in the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

Jack’s dad has an “accident” and is left in a coma. Jack goes to visit him and tries to find out what happened. Another brush with “The Otherness” inevitably follows.

As I’ve come to expect, the backdrop to the story is quite sinister, but it moves too fast for you to dwell on that. It’s more like a full on action story and much less bleak than some of the previous stories. Maybe I’m just getting acclimatized… :)



PS. Having this cold has certainly allowed me to motor through some of these books.